7 Things to Do When You Don’t Know What to Do

See that cute little dog? That’s exactly how I’m feeling right now.

I haven’t felt like this in a while. I just don’t know what to do next. I feel like I’ve been working really hard and I’m still at the starting point. What’s the point on going on when nothing seems to work?

7 Things to Do When You Don't Know What to DoI told myself that I needed to cheer myself up. I should do something that makes me happy.

I tried and it didn’t work.

What drives me is having goals and working towards achieving them. I like the rush you get when you feel like you’ve worked well. I like thinking about what I can do to reach that goal. It keeps my mind away from negative thoughts. Now these goals seem unattainable. Now that I don’t believe in what I’ve been doing for so long, little “cheer me up” activities aren’t cheering me up.

So I’m just here. Can’t go to sleep. Can’t do anything that makes me cheer up.

But one thing I know for sure. I can’t let myself go. I don’t want to. I HAVE to do something to change how I’m feeling. I need a plan. I WILL make a plan.

First of all, what do you guys do when you don’t know what to do? Let me know!

OK so I’m writing this while I’m doing it.

 

1. Get inspired

Get inspired by the Internet. Here’s the what inspired me the most from what I found on the Internet:

 

2. Start meditating

Reading Emma While’s article made me realize that one of the reasons I’m feeling discouraged is that I’m thinking way too far. I’m not taking the time to enjoy what is happening right now. I need to just relax, put some good music on and breathe in the life around me. It’s not like I’m some meditating guru, not at all. For me, meditation is just taking a break, calming down and doing nothing and thinking about nothing for a little while.

And I just did that. Ahh feeling better! I’ll try doing it every morning, just to wake up with the right attitude for the day to come!

 

3. Do stuff only if I like doing it

I’ve been doing stuff only so that one day I will be rewarded…the day when I will achieve my goal. And this is the wrong way to go. I will never have the drive and the passion to keep going if I’m only thinking about the end point. It’s exactly what happening to me right now! I don’t know what to do! So you know what? Starting from now, I will stop to constantly think about I want to achieve and think more about what makes me happy. Who cares if the way I’m doing things takes more time and is less efficient! If it makes me happy doing it this way, that’s what I’m going to do. Because otherwise I will feel discouraged – I won’t spend my life feeling that way for a tiny little reward that is very very far away.

 

4. Realize that life is uncertain

Everything can change overnight. I need to believe in faith. Let life lead me through its ups and downs. It’s OK to feel like this today. It’s not the end of the world. Even if I don’t believe I will feel better tomorrow, life is uncertain, and I just might feel better tomorrow!

 

5. Do things that I never dared to do

You know what? I will turn this whole “I don’t know what to do” into something positive. I’ve been living my little life everyday. Having my little routine, never getting off the beaten track. Time to change that. Now that I don’t know what to do and that I don’t really care that much about things in general, it’s time to do things that I never dared to do. Tomorrow, while going to work, I will compliment 5 persons. People that I don’t know! I’ve always been afraid of doing that.

And this will be just the beginning. I will dare more in life! I’ve always been afraid of dressing too different. So I’ve always been keeping it safe and normal. Time to change that. I’ll bring in some more color in my life! And who cares what other people think!

 

6. Do nice things to other people

Speaking about complimenting other people, I realized that sometimes I get so caught up in my own life and goals, that I forget people that mean a lot to me. I will call my friends and family more often. I will thank them and compliment them more often. That should take me back to reality and make me live more in the moment.

Seriously, with all the crazy stuff going on in our lives nowadays, we just need to get off the Internet and our phones and just have a chill down moment with the ones we love!

 

7. Make a plan!

Wow you guys, like I told you, I’ve been writing this plan right now and I feel so much better now! This #7 is for you! You should totally try making your own plan if you’re in the same situation! Write it down in the comments section below or on your social media and post a link in the comment section below! I will try to make a list with all of the links at the bottom of this post.

 

Let’s keep it positive! Tomorrow will be a better day!

 

Leave a Reply

